Four Lecturer/AP Positions at Sheffield University, UK

The Department of Politics at Sheffield University is hiring up to 4 (four) lecturers – the UK equivalent of assistant professors – with a starting date of Sept. 1, 2018. Applications are due March 16. You can find out more about the department here. For information about the openings, please email Dr. Lisa Stampnitzky at


Candidates for ASA Section Leadership

Below are the nominations for each elected office in the section. Many thanks to Caroline Lee and Richard Lachmann for their work on the nominations committee. The candidates in alphabetical order by last names are as follows:
Chair (elect 1)
Bart Bonikowski, Harvard
Richard Lachmann, SUNY Albany
Council (elect 2)
Rachel Best, University of Michigan
David Brady, University of California, Riverside
Daniel Laurison, Swarthmore
Jeremy Levine, University of Michigan
Anthony Spires, University of Melbourne
Treasurer (elect 1)
Stephanie Mudge, University of California, Davis
Rima Wilkes, University of British Columbia

Section Awards, Committees, and Deadlines

The Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award in Political Sociology:

The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2018.

This award is given annually to the outstanding recent book in political sociology (we will not consider edited books for this award). To be eligible, the book must have a 2017 copyright date. The selection committee encourages self-nominations or suggestions of work by others. Nominations from publishers will not be accepted. To nominate a book for this award:

(1) Send a short letter (via e-mail) nominating the book to each committee member below and

(2) Have a copy of the book sent to each committee member, at the addresses below.


Chair: Jennifer Hsu,

Visiting Fellow, Department of Social Policy

2nd Floor, Old Building

London School of Economics and Political Science

Houghton Street,

London WC2A 2AE UK


Cristian Mora,

410 Barrows Hall

Sociology Department

University of California, Berkeley

Berkeley, CA 94720-1980 USA


Xiaohong Xu

Department of Sociology, AS1 #04-18

Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences

National University of Singapore

Singapore 117570


Meghan Kallman,

93 Capwell Ave

Pawtucket, RI 02860. USA


Rima Wilkes,

Department of Sociology

University of British Columbia

6303 NW Marine Drive

Vancouver, BC V6T1Z1 Canada


Nick Wilson, Yale University,

Department of Sociology

Social and Behavioral Sciences

Stony Brook, NY 11794 USA


The winner will be notified and announced prior to the ASA meetings allowing presses to advertise the prize-winning book.


The Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship for an Article or Chapter Award for Political Sociology. The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2018.

This award is offered annually for the outstanding recently published article or chapter in political sociology. To be eligible, submissions must have a 2017 publication date. The selection committee encourages either self-nominations or suggestions of work by others. (Please note that each author may have only one article nominated.) Please submit the following to the selection committee at their email addresses listed below:

(1) A brief nomination letter and

(2) A copy of the article or chapter.

The Best Article or Book Chapter Award Committee:

Chair: Elizabeth Popp Berman, University at Albany, SUNY,

Dana Fisher, University of Maryland,

Paul Chang, Harvard University,

Joseph Harris, Boston University,

David Jacobs, Ohio State University,

The winners will be notified and announced prior to the ASA meetings.


Best Graduate Student Paper Award. The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2018.

This award is offered annually for the best graduate student paper in political sociology. Persons who were graduate students at any time during calendar year 2017 are invited to submit published or unpublished papers for this award. To be eligible, papers must be either single authored or co-authored by two or more graduate students. Articles co-authored (and/or subsequently published jointly) by a faculty and a student are not eligible. Please note that each author may have only one article nominated. Please submit:

(1) A brief nomination letter,

(2) A copy of the article or chapter

New Job Posting – Boston College

The Department of Sociology and the International Studies Program at Boston College invite applications for a tenure track assistant professor position. A successful candidate is one whose research, teaching, and advising are relevant to the consideration of global history, culture, and social structure, as well as to the social justice mission of the sociology department’s PhD program.  Scholars with expertise in any geographic area, or those who do transnational or international sociology, are invited to apply.  The tenure line will be located in the sociology department. The position, which begins in Fall 2018, entails half-time undergraduate teaching in International Studies and half-time graduate and undergraduate teaching in the Department of Sociology.  Preference will be given to entry-level applicants, but excellent candidates at the advanced Assistant Professor level will also be considered.

Applicants should apply at  Required documents include a cover letter describing relevant research, teaching accomplishments, and plans; a current CV; two pieces of recent scholarship; and a list of three references that will provide letters of recommendation for applicants that are shortlisted. The screening committee will begin reviewing applications on September 1, 2017, and will continue to review them until the position is filled.

All inquiries should be sent to Andrew Jorgenson, Chair of the Department of Sociology and Chair of the Search Committee, at

Boston College is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, protected veteran status, or other legally protected status. To learn more about how BC supports diversity and inclusion throughout the university please visit the Office for Institutional Diversity at

Announcing the Winners of the 2017 Section Awards

Please join us in congratulating the winners of our 2017 Section Awards! Many thanks to the members of our award committees, without whom none of this would be possible. The awards will be given at our business meeting, Monday, August 14 at 5:30pm, Palais des congrès de Montréal, Level 5, 517B.

Distinguished Article Award

Mayrl, Damon and Sarah Quinn. 2016. “Defining the State from Within: Boundaries, Schemas, and Associational Policymaking.” Sociological Theory 34(1): 1–26.

Graduate Student Paper Award
Arar, Rawan. Forthcoming. “International solidarity and ethnic boundaries: using the Israeli–Palestinian conflict to strengthen ethno-national claims in Northern Ireland.” Nations and Nationalism.


Distinguished Book Award (Co-Winners)

Vargas, Robert. 2016. Wounded City: Violent Turf Wars in a Chicago Barrio. Oxford University Press.

Zubrzycki, Geneviève. 2016. Beheading the Saint: Nationalism, Religion, and Secularism in Quebec. University of Chicago Press.