Section Awards, Committees, and Deadlines

All materials should be sent to each selection committee member at the e-mail addresses below.

The Graduate Paper Award Committee:

Chair: Cybelle Fox, University at California, Berkeley

Hana Brown, Wake Forest University,

Yan Long, Indiana University,

Camilo Leslie, Tulane University

The winners will be notified and announced prior to the ASA meetings.


(Proposed) “The Distinguished Career Award in Political Sociology.” This award will be made pending the section’s approval in a vote this spring. The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2018.

“The Distinguished Career Award recognizes and celebrates a lifetime of contributions to the area(s) of political sociology. Nominations will be judged on the depth and breadth of the scholar’s impact on political sociology over the course of their career. Nominees must be at least a quarter of a century beyond graduating with their Ph.D.  Section members may nominate a distinguished scholar by sending:

(1) A letter (PDF or MSWord) of nomination, which outlines the candidate’s scholarly contributions to the field and provides assurance of the candidate’s willingness to be nominated;

(2) A copy of the candidate’s most recent curriculum vitae, and

(3) The full contact information for the nominee (including email address), to the nominating committee below.

To receive full consideration, nominations must be submitted by March 1st, 2018.”

The Distinguished Career Award Committee:

Chair: Thomas Janoski, University at Kentucky,

Richard Lachman, University at Albany, State University of New York

Caroline Lee, Lafayette College,

The winner will be notified and announced prior to the ASA meetings.