Candidates for ASA Section Leadership

Below are the nominations for each elected office in the section. Many thanks to Caroline Lee and Richard Lachmann for their work on the nominations committee. The candidates in alphabetical order by last names are as follows:
Chair (elect 1)
Bart Bonikowski, Harvard
Richard Lachmann, SUNY Albany
Council (elect 2)
Rachel Best, University of Michigan
David Brady, University of California, Riverside
Daniel Laurison, Swarthmore
Jeremy Levine, University of Michigan
Anthony Spires, University of Melbourne
Treasurer (elect 1)
Stephanie Mudge, University of California, Davis
Rima Wilkes, University of British Columbia

Section Awards, Committees, and Deadlines

The Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award in Political Sociology:

The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2018.

This award is given annually to the outstanding recent book in political sociology (we will not consider edited books for this award). To be eligible, the book must have a 2017 copyright date. The selection committee encourages self-nominations or suggestions of work by others. Nominations from publishers will not be accepted. To nominate a book for this award:

(1) Send a short letter (via e-mail) nominating the book to each committee member below and

(2) Have a copy of the book sent to each committee member, at the addresses below.


Chair: Jennifer Hsu,

Visiting Fellow, Department of Social Policy

2nd Floor, Old Building

London School of Economics and Political Science

Houghton Street,

London WC2A 2AE UK


Cristian Mora,

410 Barrows Hall

Sociology Department

University of California, Berkeley

Berkeley, CA 94720-1980 USA


Xiaohong Xu

Department of Sociology, AS1 #04-18

Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences

National University of Singapore

Singapore 117570


Meghan Kallman,

93 Capwell Ave

Pawtucket, RI 02860. USA


Rima Wilkes,

Department of Sociology

University of British Columbia

6303 NW Marine Drive

Vancouver, BC V6T1Z1 Canada


Nick Wilson, Yale University,

Department of Sociology

Social and Behavioral Sciences

Stony Brook, NY 11794 USA


The winner will be notified and announced prior to the ASA meetings allowing presses to advertise the prize-winning book.


The Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship for an Article or Chapter Award for Political Sociology. The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2018.

This award is offered annually for the outstanding recently published article or chapter in political sociology. To be eligible, submissions must have a 2017 publication date. The selection committee encourages either self-nominations or suggestions of work by others. (Please note that each author may have only one article nominated.) Please submit the following to the selection committee at their email addresses listed below:

(1) A brief nomination letter and

(2) A copy of the article or chapter.

The Best Article or Book Chapter Award Committee:

Chair: Elizabeth Popp Berman, University at Albany, SUNY,

Dana Fisher, University of Maryland,

Paul Chang, Harvard University,

Joseph Harris, Boston University,

David Jacobs, Ohio State University,

The winners will be notified and announced prior to the ASA meetings.


Best Graduate Student Paper Award. The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2018.

This award is offered annually for the best graduate student paper in political sociology. Persons who were graduate students at any time during calendar year 2017 are invited to submit published or unpublished papers for this award. To be eligible, papers must be either single authored or co-authored by two or more graduate students. Articles co-authored (and/or subsequently published jointly) by a faculty and a student are not eligible. Please note that each author may have only one article nominated. Please submit:

(1) A brief nomination letter,

(2) A copy of the article or chapter

All materials should be sent to each selection committee member at the e-mail addresses below.

The Graduate Paper Award Committee:

Chair: Cybelle Fox, University at California, Berkeley

Hana Brown, Wake Forest University,

Yan Long, Indiana University,

Camilo Leslie, Tulane University

The winners will be notified and announced prior to the ASA meetings.


(Proposed) “The Distinguished Career Award in Political Sociology.” This award will be made pending the section’s approval in a vote this spring. The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2018.

“The Distinguished Career Award recognizes and celebrates a lifetime of contributions to the area(s) of political sociology. Nominations will be judged on the depth and breadth of the scholar’s impact on political sociology over the course of their career. Nominees must be at least a quarter of a century beyond graduating with their Ph.D.  Section members may nominate a distinguished scholar by sending:

(1) A letter (PDF or MSWord) of nomination, which outlines the candidate’s scholarly contributions to the field and provides assurance of the candidate’s willingness to be nominated;

(2) A copy of the candidate’s most recent curriculum vitae, and

(3) The full contact information for the nominee (including email address), to the nominating committee below.

To receive full consideration, nominations must be submitted by March 1st, 2018.”

The Distinguished Career Award Committee:

Chair: Thomas Janoski, University at Kentucky,

Richard Lachman, University at Albany, State University of New York

Caroline Lee, Lafayette College,

The winner will be notified and announced prior to the ASA meetings.

New book on religion and political movements in the US

Braunstein, Ruth. 2017. Prophets and Patriots: Faith in Democracy Across the Political Divide. University of California Press.

Prophets and Patriots coverProphets and Patriots takes readers inside two of the most active populist movements of the Obama era and highlights cultural convergences and contradictions at the heart of American political life. In the wake of the Great Recession and amid rising discontent with government responsiveness to ordinary citizens, the book follows participants in two very different groups—a progressive faith-based community organization and a conservative Tea Party group—as they set out to become active and informed citizens, put their faith into action, and hold government accountable. Both groups viewed themselves as the latest in a long line of prophetic voices and patriotic heroes who were carrying forward the promise of the American democratic project. Yet the ways in which each group put this common vision into practice reflected very different understandings of American democracy and citizenship.

New Book: The Poor’s Struggle for Political Incorporation

Rossi, Federico M. 2017. The Poor’s Struggle for Political Incorporation: The Piquetero Movement in Argentina. Cambridge University Press.

The Poor's Struggle coverThis book offers an innovative perspective on the ever-widening gap between the poor and the state in Latin American politics. It presents a comprehensive analysis of the main social movement that mobilized the poor and unemployed people of Argentina to end neoliberalism and to attain incorporation into a more inclusive and equal society. The piquetero (picketer) movement is the largest movement of unemployed people in the world. This movement has transformed Argentine politics to the extent of becoming part of the governing coalition for more than a decade. Rossi argues that the movement has been part of a long-term struggle by the poor for socio-political participation in the polity after having been excluded by authoritarian regimes and neoliberal reforms. He conceptualizes this process as a wave of incorporation, exploring the characteristics of this major redefinition of politics in Latin America.